Day 11

      Remembering Positive Verses

 This week we’re looking at the parable of the salt and the importance of being shiny. It’s very easy to become downtrodden and feel you’re not worthy to shine. There are moments when I feel like a very rotten person who has no right to try and make a difference.

However rotten you may feel, you are still counted. You make a mistake: apologise for it and turn your face to God again. You’ve been running away from God for some time: stop and turn around, God will still welcome you with open arms. It’s through Christ that we can shine for God and be salty for God.

Jesus isn’t calling us to be attention seekers. Rather, he’s calling us to live a life that radiates him. So, to help us become light displays that don’t point to us but towards Him I’ve thought this week we could reflect on and memorise a positive verse from the bible each day. This doesn’t win you God points (make-believe points that make you shinier in God’s eyes) but it will help you remember how wonderful God is.    20140826_212731

Experience

The following are the verses that I’ve decided to memorise on these different days. Remembering the book, chapter and verse number where the verse comes from is always beneficial and reading the rest of the verse’s chapter can be helpful as it gives you a little bit more of the context.

Note: All these verses are from the NIV translation. When memorising verses it makes it less confusing if you stick with one translation.

 20140826_212705

1st day

Philippians 4: 13

‘I can do all this through him who gives me strength.’

Kind of forgot to start on the actual ‘1st day’ so I bunged this one in with ‘2nd day’. Reflecting on this verse has helped picked me up from a point of feeling I had no hope of living for God. With God’s help I can! On my own, I have little no chance.

2nd day

Ephesians 1:7-8a

‘In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that he lavished on us.’

After reflecting on 1st Day’s verse, whilst doing the washing up, I reflected on this verse by compartmentalizing it into sections so I could chew over each segment. It’s truly amazing! Our redemption is something we haven’t gained by our efforts, because God knows they will never be enough, but by his loving grace ‘he lavished on us’. He lavishes us in his riches: grace, love, adoption – He calls us his children (recurring theme, becomes a little confusing when you also think of God calling the church his bride. One way to think of it is that it reflects the different ways he loves us)!!!! How mega is that?

20140826_212546

3rd day

Psalm 139:14

‘I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.’

So true: each one of us is unique. It feels a bit of an old verse to muse over as it’s come up during my life a fair amount. However, there’s still plenty of depth in it that I have yet to really take on board. We’re all beautiful and all wonderfully made; this is something we need to remember about ourselves and others.

4th day

Luke 17:3-4

‘If a brother or sister sins against you, rebuke them; and if they repent, forgive them. Even if they sin against you seven times in a day and seven times come back to you saying ‘I repent,’ you must forgive them.’

It’s so often that I kick myself for mucking up in a particular way and feeling like God has had enough of me. I mean, I’m writing this new blog but still struggling in certain areas. I’m yet to do meditation this week and I don’t spend time thinking or praying about others like I should. However, this verse, when looked at, is just wonderful. We are to act this way towards others: always forgiving them each time they say ‘I repent’. If this is the way that we should be, we can be certain that God (who isn’t a hypocrite) is like this too, even more so as he’s the only we should be repenting (turning around) too. Does that give us license to sin? No. However, it does mean that when we do and we return to God again, we can believe with confidence that we’ll be forgiven.

20140826_212423

5th day

Jeremiah 29:11

‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’

Today, I found out I didn’t get a job I’d had an interview for. Although this is rather disappointing and my first response was to go: ‘Right, there’s no point for me to remain in Falmouth’, this verse helps to establish confidence and hope that God has good plans for us. Let’s try and dig into them.

6th day

Psalm 145:18

‘The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.’

After a fashion, this is a reminder of where we stand with God. Even if we might not feel as if we’re experiencing God’s presence that doesn’t mean He’s not around. Furthermore, if we’re currently not in God’s presence it’s not Him who’s moved or turned His back on us. It’s us, in our sinful ways, which have turned away from God.

20140826_212506

7th day

Joshua 1:9

‘Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.’

At times, life is monotonous and far from a place that needs any sense of strength or courage. Such as today, the main thing I had to do was to read over my essay, format it correctly and write a conclusion. Today is easy. Today I should spend some time getting closer to God, because I have the luxury of doing so from a good, albeit tired, place even if there’s parts of me that feel rebellious and otherwise inclined. The closer we are to God, the more we can really believe in this commandment (that, apparently, is repeated 365 times in the bible). ‘Be strong and courageous.’

THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.® Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

4 thoughts on “Day 11”

  1. Your response to Luke 17: 3-4 resonates with the post I made to your blog post of “Day 10”: Jesus asks us to forgive other people, but we must do so as God has forgiven us. That’s a tall order, firstly because we are being called upon to match God in his graciousness (wow!), but secondly because we must first forgive ourselves in the knowledge of God’s grace for us. Not to do so is to hold ourselves back, because we are not truly free from our sin while it still holds us in spiritual chains of guilt and shame.

    So there are actually three important points which spring from that one passage, each of which is simple to say and hard to really comprehend the magnitude of in our lives:

    1) God has forgiven us!
    2) We should forgive ourselves in reflection of that, and;
    3) We should extend to others the forgiveness that God shows us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Boom! You’ve got it! Heck, I know it’s a work in progress in me…
      It’s very easy to judge oneself and, when you’re in that position, judging others is something that’s much easier to do.
      A book I’m reading at the moment (The Jesus Prayer) says the following encouraging words with regards to this:

      ‘Of course we all have an instinctive sense – which you can’t help having if you become aware of being in the presence of God – of being unclean, unholy, unready, and that feeling can rightly be painful. But, at this point, we invoke the name of Jesus: a name to which George Herbert, using the form ‘Jesu’, wanted to give the meaning ‘I ease you’ – a name which for him expressed the love that bids us welcome and wants to make us at home and even to wait upon us, as Christ waited upon his disciples, washing their feet. As we invoke Jesus’ name, we must let God’s ‘yes’ to us in Christ overcome all our negative feelings and affirm us fundamentally.’

      Like

Leave a Reply

